## STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT



AMENDED RULES FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

WHEREAS, Minnesota does not have an integrated bar but does have an active and effective voluntary bar association in which a large percentage of all active attorneys at law practicing in this state are members, and

WHEREAS, in the past the expenses of conducting examinations for admissions to the practice of law and the expenses incident to conducting disciplinary proceedings were paid in part by a biennial appropriation of the legislature out of the general tax sources of the state; in part by a fee exacted from applicants for admission to the bar; and in part by contributions received from the state bar association, and

WHEREAS, it is improper to accept money for these purposes either from the general tax sources of the state or from contributions of a voluntary bar association that does not include as members all practicing attorneys of the state as these obligations ought of right to be borne by all members of the bar, whether associated with the state bar association or not, and

WHEREAS, it is desirable that a current list of those who are authorized to practice law in this state be maintained,

NOW THEREFORE, by virtue of and under the inherent power of this court to regulate the practice of law in this state, these rules are adopted in order that there may be on file annually a current list of all those authorized to practice law in this state and in order that the expenses of conducting examinations for admissions to the bar and conducting disciplinary proceedings may be borne by all attorneys at law authorized to

practice law in this state.

- 1. Admission to the bar of the State of Minnesota and disciplinary proceedings shall be conducted according to rules promulgated by this court.
- 2. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigations for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such admission, with the exceptions hereinafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereafter annually, on or before the first day of January of each year after his original admission, pay to the clerk of the supreme court a registration fee in the sum of Twenty-five Dollars (\$25.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereafter determine. All amounts in excess of \$7.00 shall be allocated and used exclusively for regulating the practice of law according to the rules of professional conduct adopted or promulgated by the supreme court.

The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of Seven Dollars (\$7.00):

- (a) Any attorney who has reached the age of 70 years and files annually with the clerk of supreme court an affidavit that he is not engaged in the practice of law;
- (b) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of Minnesota and who does not practice law within this state;
- (c) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years;
- (d) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States;

- (e) Any judge who is retired and no longer serves on the bench or practices law.
- 3. Upon failure to pay such fee, the right to practice law in this state shall be automatically suspended, and no individual shall be authorized to practice law in this state or to in any manner hold himself out as qualified or authorized to practice law while in default in the payment of such registration fee. Any individual who shall violate this rule shall be subject to all the penalties and remedies provided by law for the unauthorized practice of law in the State of Minnesota. It shall be the duty of each member of the judiciary to enjoin persons from appearing and practicing in his court whose failure to register has come to the attention of such court.
- 4. Annually on or before December 1 of each year the clerk of the supreme court shall mail to each individual then authorized to practice law, who has not paid such registration fee, at his last known address, a statement showing the amount of the registration fee required for the next ensuing year. Failure to receive such notice shall not excuse payment of such fee. Every attorney at law shall immediately notify the clerk of this court of any change of address.
- 5. The right to practice law may be reinstated by the court after suspension upon application and upon payment of all delinquent registration fees and the additional sum of Five Dollars (\$5.00). This court may, in hardship cases, waive payment of delinquent fees.
- 6. Upon payment of the registration fee, the clerk of the supreme court shall issue and deliver to the person paying the same a certificate in such form as may be provided by this court, showing that such individual is an attorney at law in good standing and authorized to practice in the State of Minnesota.

7. All money collected from applicants for admission to the bar or as an annual registration fee as provided herein shall be deposited by the clerk in a special fund, as directed by this court, and shall be disbursed therefrom only upon vouchers signed by a member of this court.

8. Nothing herein shall prevent any court in this state from granting special permission to nonresident counsel to appear and participate in a particular action or proceeding in association with an authorized attorney of this state.

Dated this 4th day of August, 1970.

SUPREME COURT, STATE OF MINNESOTA,

BY:

Mastin The lass